+ Reply to Thread

Thread: High school Zines?

Default High school Zines?

My high school is really boring. No one ever attends any of the even half-promising events. So, in order to stir up some controversy, and some excitement (as well as help the local scene), I though about starting a zine.

The issue, is that I have no idea of how to go about it. I mean, I have ideas for one or two articles or columns, and I'm a semi-decent writer, but I'd like one or two orther working on it with me. How do I find people interested in it?

Also, if people could throw out some topics, or names for the zine, that'd be great. My school's called Alexander Mackenzie High School (or Alex Mack, A-Mack, and AMHS). Something that could play off one of those would be great, but it really doesn't matter too much.

Thanks!

Same place but I have been just about everywhere inbetween

Default Re: High school Zines?

steps..I use to do a zine in Highschool...it wasn't very good but I had alot of fun and met some very cool well knonw people in the punk community. is it for the school itself? if so don't you have a school newspaper? if it's for yourself get a peice of paper and write ideas down. I would go it alone till you have a solid format and people actually reading it. When idid my zine I did it by myself, everytime somone helped they took advantage of the situation be it band interviews or pictures or CD reviews. My zine was called Ejection Seat....it was just my ideas about the world andreviews about music...

bre.star's Avatar Senior Member

Alex Mack! I loved that show!!