+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Holiday Mania

Amelia G's Avatar chick in charge

Default Holiday Mania

Do you find yourself acting or being crazier during the holiday season?

Default Re: Holiday Mania

Mostly just stressing more over money and long waiting lines at the grocery store. I mean, they don't even sell anything except food and I have to wait in line at 1am on a weekday! What is up with that? This never happened in October or May or July, just December. Then there are those annoying bell ringers that you just want to shove the bell down their throat as to stop the annoying ringing.

TheWalkingGlitch's Avatar Si vis pacem, para bellum

During the brief time I worked in the game industry, there was always the "Let's get this coded and shipped in time for Christmas!" rush which did tend to drive all concerned pretty crazy; though beyond that no, I do not really get all that much different around Christmas. I don't have a whole lot of people to shop for at this point in time, so it's fairly stress-free.

One Eyed Cat's Avatar Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by AmeliaG
    Do you find yourself acting or being crazier during the holiday season?
    I think cabin fever is the correct term for it. This year, I have a cluster of issues with which I am in "hurry up and wait" mode. I would have to say this will not add to my holiday spirit. Overall, tho, I look forward to seeing my family. The anxiety will go away once these issues are settled. I have no doubt they will be in my favor, but waiting for matters beyond one's control fucking sucks. I think the holiday season adds to anxieties concerning both the past and future. In part, I believe this is due to the association some of us make between the holidays and our childhood. You just have to gut it out.

OEC

DharmaLion's Avatar Devil's Advocate

If its a holiday for someone else, that means it time to get to work for me.